Resources for Parents in response to the COVID 19 closure:

Being out of school and hearing about the coronavirus may make you feel scared or anxious. If you need someone to talk to, be sure to reach out to your guidance counselor through email.

Ms. Battista would like to hear from you: please complete her daily check -in form: Ms. Battista's daily check in

Mr. Lambert would like to hear from you: please complete his daily check- in form: Mr. Lambert's Daily Check -In

Tips on how to stay mindful while school is closed: https://mailchi.mp/littlefloweryoga/kids-and-coronavirus-anxiety?e=93768a4a9b

Parent Resources:

National Association of School Psychologists: Talking to Children About COVID-19: A Parent Resource- https://higherlogicdownload.s3.amazonaws.com/NASN/3870c72d-fff9-4ed7-833f-215de278d256/UploadedImages/PDFs/02292020_NASP_NASN_COVID-19_parent_handout.pdf

Child Mind Institute: Talking to Kids About the Coronavirus - https://childmind.org/article/talking-to-kids-about-the-coronavirus/

https://www.nasponline.org/resources-and-publications/resources-and-podcasts/school-climate-safety-and-crisis/health-crisis-resources/helping-children-cope-with-changes-resulting-from-covid-19

The Governor has opened a Emotional Support Hotline: 1-844-863-9314, more information can be found at: https://omh.ny.gov/omhweb/covid-19-resources.html

Welcome to the Middle School Clinicians and Guidance Counselors

 Guidance Office Main Number: 845 -353 -7220 / 845- 353- 7221
 Lorraine Longing, Director of Guidance K - 12, 353 -7123, llonging@nyackschools.org 
Liz Battista, Grade 7 School Counselor , 353-7225, lbattista@nyackschools.org 
Dr. Laverne Campbell-Lodge, School Psychologist, 353-7226,  lcampbell@nyackschools.org
Francesca Falvo, Grade  8 School Counselor , 353-7223, ffalvo@nyackschools.org
 Edgar Lambert, Grade  6 School Counselor , 353-7224, elambert@nyackschools.org 
Wanda Octaviano, Family Resource Center Coordinator, 353-7214, woctaviano@nyackschools.org
Jeanine Rufo, School Social Worker, 353-7238, jrufo@nyackschools.org
 
Secretaries 
Theresa Holland, 353-7220, tholland@nyackschools.org
Eileen McGee, 353-7221, emcgee@nyackschools.org
 
Nyack School District's Comprehensive Guidance Plan:  K - 12 Nyack School District Guidance Plan 2019-2020 1.pdf